Interpreting Performance: An Interview with Imogen Cooper

Interview with international concert pianist Imogen Cooper

The Oxford Culture Review

As an international concert pianist, Imogen Cooper’s career has encompassed performances across the globe, working with musicians such as Sir Colin Davis and Sir Simon Rattle, and recording works by Schubert, Mozart, Schumann, and Beethoven amongst others. She has recently been appointed Oxford’s Humanitas Professor of Classical Music and Musical Education, a series of visiting professorships dedicated to addressing themes in the arts, social sciences, and humanities. I spoke to her about her career as a pianist and her new role as Humanitas Professor.

Why do you choose to play Schubert? What’s special about his music for you?

It’s a love affair that goes back a very long way. I first heard his music when I was a teenager studying in Paris. I didn’t hear it through any of my teachers and I’m rather glad of that, because I’m not sure French Schubert is necessarily something what I would have…

View original post 3,269 more words

Leave a Reply

