Seize the Water: An Interview with Jake Downs

Interview with singer-songwriter Jake Downs.

The Oxford Culture Review

Currently studying as a music undergraduate at Christ Church, Oxford, Jake Downs has just released his debut single ‘Seize the Water’. I spoke to him about his music, inspiration, and negotiating the music industry.
When did you start performing, and what got you interested in music?

Strangely, I didn’t find music as an active interest until I was 10 years old, and I finally decided I should start to play the piano. I’ve always had music surrounding me, though never in a particularly ‘classical’ sense; my parents have an eclectic taste in music between the two of them, but neither have ever really played. My sister influenced me a great deal throughout my childhood in the ways in which I listened to music and what I chose to explore, and she still does now. I think a mixture of a growing excitement for listening to music and the inspiration of musicians…

View original post 2,125 more words

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

