The Unaccompanied: An Interview with Simon Armitage

Interview with poet Simon Armitage, the newly appointed Professor of Poetry at Oxford University.

The Oxford Culture Review

Simon Armitage is a multi-award winning poet, playwright, and novelist. In light of his recent nomination for the post of Professor of Poetry at Oxford University, I spoke to him about what he would hope to bring to the role, writing collaboratively, and creating poetic voices.

How did you get into writing poetry?

Reading, really. When I was at school, about age 16, I started reading Ted Hughes. It was really from that point on that I wanted to be involved with poetry. I saw it as a way forward. I don’t think I knew then that I wanted to write, but I knew that I wanted to read and acquire books. The BBC are making a radio documentary about a book of Ted’s called Poetry in the Making, which is a published version of some talks he gave on radio on how to write poems. I remember…

View original post 2,448 more words

Leave a Reply

